Hi. Our summer registrations are not open just yet. The Club is continuing to follow Alberta Health Services and Government of Alberta guidance for our operations.

Here are this summer's Program, Course and Lesson Plans. There is a form on that page you can complete to get notified when registration opens.

We look forward to seeing you on the water this year.

Log in

Vere Forsyth Cup

Wednesday Night Series Trophy (return to Trophy Summary page)

Deed of Gift
We, the undersigned, are pleased to present the Vere Forsyth Cup to the Glenmore Sailing Club for perpetual competition between boats in the keelboat fleet of the Club in memory of our long-time friend, Vere Forsyth; a club member, cruising racer and contributor to the success and advancement of sailing in Calgary, Alberta and Canada

The conditions of this presentation are:

  • The Cup will be presented each year to the cruiser which wins the season’s series of Club races, normally held on Wednesday evenings between May and October. The season and series length may be changed on the vote of the cruiser sailors with the approval of the Club.
  • The system of handicaps to be used to determine the winner of each race shall be decided by the cruiser sailors at the beginning of each season and with the approval of the Club. The scoring used to determine the series winner shall be set by the Club.
  • The Cup will be presented to the winning crew at the annual event recognizing the Club championships and shall be returned top the Club in time for presentation to the next champion. The Club may present each crew with an additional trophy to recognize the achievement.
  • Each winning crew has the obligation to protect and maintain the Cup in the condition in which it was received.
Dated the 7th day of November, 1992, in the City of Calgary
   Mike Seth
   Tony Edgington
   Noel Cleland

Year Winning Skipper & Crew 
1992 Noel Cleland, Tony Edgington, Ian Martin
1993 Don Anderson, Bob Ramsay, Brock Ramsay
1994 Noel Cleland, Tony Edgington, Hugh Atkins
1995 Don Anderson, Bob Ramsay / Steve and Serenity Blumer
1996 Mike Seth, Rod Nishiyama
1997 Andy Lakie, Barry Emmons, Mike Cullen
1998 Colin Silkstone, Nollind van Bryce, Teresa van Bryce, Mike Draycott, Debbie Jensen, Anne Tichborne, Teresa Zamonsky
1999 Nollind van Bryce, Teresa van Bryce, Mike Draycott
2000  Steve Blumer, Frank Crawford, Roger Keen
2001  Mike Seth, Rod Nishiyama, Bill Plaxton, Bill Rathgaber
2002  Mike Oxner
2003  Rod Nishiyama
2004  Terry Forshner
2005  - not awarded -
2006  - not awarded -
2007  Terry Sydoryk
2008  Bailey family
2009  Bailey family
2010  Roley Ferguson 

Club Location:
8601 24 St SW
(South Glenmore Park) - view map

The Club is fully wheelchair accessible.

Mailing Address:
Box 72107, Glenmore Landing PO
Calgary, Alberta T2V 5H9

GST #88037 2875 RT0001

Connect with us:
Contact the Board

Phone: (403) 238-2044

Wind Forecasts

Weather Underground PWS IABBAYVI2

Community Sport Partner

Member of the following:

Sail Canada
Alberta Sailing Association 

Donate to Youth Sailing

Our youth sailing program  charitable donations are generously managed by
Parks Foundation Calgary.

Learn more and donate online

Our thanks for their support!

Thank you for the grant to purchase boats and equipment for our youth sailing programs.

Thank you for the Amateur Sport Grant to purchase boats and equipment for our youth sailing programs. 

Thank you to the Community Initiatives Program for funding to purchase boats and equipment for our youth sailing programs.

Thank you for your support

McKenzie Towne

Upcoming events

  • No upcoming events